Distinction between Navamsha and Kalansha

It is said that the sages of the ancient India could see the past, present and future by the power of their knowledge. Now the times have changed, our lives have changed. We don’t have the patience nor have the courage for devotion of that level.

It has become difficult not just to judge the past and the future but also the present. In this situation only the Vedas given by Parampitaa Brahma can give us solace. As we know astrology is not only a part, but the eyes of the Vedas, it provides and predicts destiny of a person.

Mystery of Vedic Astrology
Vedic astrology is the store of mysterious things. Researches have been done and still going on to reduce the complexity and to decipher the metaphorical meanings so that the new generation can easily deal with it. Astrologers are carrying out several researches from which newer methods are emerging that will make prediction of the future more accurate and simpler.

In the 20th century legendary South Indian astrologer Krishnamurthy founded an astrological system which is called the Krishnamurthy System. In this system Navamsha is replaced by the kalansha to predict the future accurately.

Differences between Navamsha and kalansha Though Vedic astrology is the foundation of both the navamsha and kalansha there are some differences between them.

Navamsha is the division of sign whereas kalansha is the division of nakshatras. In Vedic astrology navamsha is used for knowing subtle events. Krishnamurthy started the trend of dividing nakshatras instead of signs through which predictions became even more fine-tuned and pointed. In navamsha signs and in kalansha nakshatras are classified into 9 parts.

Our Free Services
Let us discuss elaborately. In navamsha a sign of 30 degree is divided into 9 parts . Thus, a navamsha has 3 degree and 20 minutes. In contrast nakshatra is of 13 degree and 20 minutes that is divided into 9 parts. But this division is not equal.

Every kalansha has a planet as its lord, and the planet’s period  has been decided as per the Vimshottari Dasha. Just as the planetary period is different in vimshottari dasha the kalansha periods too do not remain same. Thus, every kalansha has its own duration in accordance with the Vimshottari Dasha.

The smallest kalansha is of 4 minutes and the biggest one is of 2 degree 20 seconds. kalansha periods are smaller and this quality brings it nearer to the reality.

There are differences in the numbers of navamsha and kalansha. There are 108 navamsha whereas kalansha are 249 in number. You might be thinking that there are 12 signs which are divided in to 9 parts get a number of 108, then how come 27 nakshatras after dividing with 9 get 243 kalansha. I.e. why 6 extra kalansha?

The answer of this query is that in this system some nakshatra periods are divided between two signs. Suppose, if we take kalansha of the Moon, a single nakshatra period may fall between two signs like Gemini, Virgo, Aquarius or Capricorn, Leo etc. have. In this way we get 6 more kalanshas.

In Krishnamurthy system planets are the lords of the kalansha, and results are obtained from planetary influences on kalansha.



Please rate this article:

5.00 Ratings. (Rated by 1 people)

Write a Comment

View All Comments