Vedic & Western Astrology

The Vedic astrology follows the principles of Nirayan planetary positions, whereas Western astrology is based on Sayan planetary positions.

As we know there are different ways to reach the almighty but the destination is the same for everyone. Similarly, the curiosity to know one’s future is same whether he is an Indian, American or an African. Though predictions are different in different cultures, all the streams accept astrological and planetorial influences in human lives. There are some similarities in Vedic and Western astrology and there are many differences.

Introduction of Astrology
Human lives are subtly influenced by planetary movement and rhythm that takes place in the galaxy. Science that studies these influences is called Astrology. Indian astrology is one of the parts of the Vedas. Amongst the six Vedas, astrology has been called the eye which has the power to see past, future and present.

Astrology has been given an important place in the Vedas as it predicts good fortune as well as provides remedies against inauspicious planetary results in a Vedic manner. In contrast, Western astrology touches only the surface and can be used to predict major trends.
Our Free Services

Logic behind Vedic and Western Astrology
Vedic astrology follows Nirayan principle and Western astrology follows the Sayan method. In Indian Vedic astrology the predictions are based on Nirayan principles and factors like planetary obstacles, combinations, aspects, etc., while Sayan astrology is based on the observed position of planets and signs. The western astrology is silent about the unobserved, or unstated part of astrology that Vedic astrology is able to interpret.

It has been said in Vedas that astrology consists of three parts namely Siddhant , Sanhita and Hora . A person’s kundli is based on the Hora part. Siddhant part deals with origin of life, planetary positions during natural calamities and in calculating ‘kaal’.  On the basis of Sanhita part astrological calculations of planets, nakshatras, vastu, muhurta and prasna are done.

Vedic astrology opines that a person’s birth and fortune is based on his ‘action’. It means Indian astrology believes in re-birth and Karma. As Western astrology is devoid of the ideas of re-birth and human action, predictions are provided on Sayan method or by mere observation.

The difference between Nirayan and Sayan calculations is that when a planet is in the seventh degree of the sign in the Nirayan method, it is in the first degree of the next sign in the Sayan method.



Please rate this article:

5.00 Ratings. (Rated by 1 people)

Write a Comment

View All Comments